JULY 5th

Special Guest


After over 14 years and more than 600 concerts, the Funk Off haven’t been just the first italian marchin’ band, as they have literally given a new meaning to the word Marchin’ Band in Italy.

They go skillfully through the black music’s groove and jazz’s arrangements, the typical italian style and melody, staging with coreographic movements of great effect.

Funk Off was founded in 1998 by Dario Cecchini, currently founder and band leader with a 20-years both pop and jazz career, reaching popularity in 2003 as Umbria Jazz’s guests when they performed a street parade to finally go on stage with an enthusiastic James Brown.

From that moment they’ve been joining Umbria Jazz every year as the official Marchin’ Band.

During their career, they worked with Paolo Fresu, David Liebman, Horacio “El Negro” Hernandez, Stefano Bollani, Gegè Telesforo, Maurizio Giammarco, Fabrizio Bosso, Marco Tamburini, Gianluca Petrella, Antonello Salis, Bengi Benati, Crystal Whyte.

Funk Off played with Zucchero, and opened the “Quinto Mondo” Jovanotti’s tour concerts.

In January 2004 they moved to New York, where they played together with the best Marchin’ Band worldwide.

In 2005, Funk Off went to Melbourne, Australia, where they performed at Umbria Jazz Melbourne.

Their costantly and overwhelming live show activity in 2008 leads them performing at Vitoria Jazz Festival in Spain, at the London Jazz Festival and at Time in Jazz in Sardinia. Celebreting the 10th anniversary of the band on June 22nd of that year, they threw a big party / celebratory concert at Vicchio (FI) their home-town.

In February and December 2008 were the resident band in two episodes of Scalo 76 on BBC2.


Dario Cecchini: bariton sax, direction
Paolo Bini: trumpet
Mirco Rubegni: trumpet
Emiliano Bassi: trumpet
Sergio Santelli: alto sax
Tiziano Panchetti: alto sax
Andrea Pasi: tenor sax
Claudio Giovagnoli: tenor sax
Giacomo Bassi: bariton sax
Nicola Cipriani: bariton sax
Giordano Geroni: sousaphone
Francesco Bassi: snare drum, corrd. rhythmic section
Alessandro Suggelli: bass drum
Luca Bassani: cymbals
Daniele Bassi: percussion